Learning Hub May 2020 Updates

May 2020 Update

Every month the Learning Hub gets an update. This is an update overview of what’s changing in May 2020.

Brightspace Pulse - Multi-account Login Support | New

Brightspace Pulse for iOS and Android now supports the ability to simultaneously log in to multiple Brightspace Pulse accounts. Learners can easily switch between multiple Brightspace instances without logging out from Brightspace Pulse. In addition, learners can receive notifications from all of their accounts in Brightspace Pulse.

This feature is useful to learners who may be:

  • completing more than one degree
  • supplementing a degree with a preferred course offering at a partner institution
  • simultaneously pursuing a degree and professional development at work

In Brightspace Pulse, a new menu icon or your organization’s logo displays in the navigation bar. Tap the menu icon or logo to open a menu with options to switch accounts, add new accounts, and access settings. The current active account is indicated by a checkmark icon.

If there is at least one outstanding notification for any of the accounts, a red notification dot displays on the menu icon or organization logo in the navigation bar.

This feature implements PIE item D5186.

 

Brightspace Pulse – Pin and unpin courses | Updated

To help learners more easily find their current courses in Brightspace Pulse for Android, learners can now pin and unpin courses from the Courses screens. Pinning a course ensures it remains at the top of the screen for easy access. Previously, learners could only pin and unpin their courses in Brightspace Learning Environment and Brightspace Pulse for iOS.

To pin or unpin a course in Brightspace Pulse, do one of the following:

  • From the Courses screen, tap the ellipses (…) icon in a course tile.
  • From the Course Homepage screen, tap the ellipses (…) icon at the top of the screen.
    • From the list of actions, tap Pin or Unpin. A pinned course is denoted by a Pin Unpinning a course removes the pin icon.

 

Calendar - Bulk delete items | New

To create parity with other tools and improve workflow, the Calendar tool now offers a Delete interface. Previously, it was impossible to bulk delete calendar items. This change enables users to multi-select and delete calendar items using the More Actions menu.

This feature implements PIE items D432 and D1134.

Export Course Components - Org unit codes included in exported course file names | New

The default file name for exported courses now includes the Org Unit Code of the course being exported.

The new file name convention follows the format: D2LExport_{OrgUnitId}_{OrgUnitCode}_{Timestamp}.zip. Previously, exported course names followed the format: D2LExport_{OrgUnitId}_{Timestamp}.zip.

This feature implements PIE item D6269.

New Content Experience - Improvements to the Table of Contents | Updated

Previously, in the New Content Experience, with the New Learner Experience enabled, when you navigated to the Table of Contents, all topics and modules were retrieved for the course, and within a unit module, all lesson modules were expanded. Depending on the number of topics and modules in the course, this potentially resulted in long load times.

Now, only top-level units and the active lesson are expanded. All other modules are collapsed.

When you expand a module (unit or lesson), you now observe a temporary placeholder for each expected topic and module while they are being retrieved and rendered.

Previously, when you clicked the name of a lesson module, you would be directed to the module’s description page.

Now, clicking a lesson name expands or collapses the contents of the module.

To view the lesson description and topics within the module, click Launch Lesson.